First Time Dad

Those who know me, know that my wife and I are expecting our first child in June. Having only been married for about 8 months now, you could say life has been one big exciting event after another these passed few years. While I could easily reflect on probably one of the best years of my life, 2009, I’d like to share some of my thoughts on being this year so far.
It’s easy to be scared with your first kid, and here I sound like someone who’s been there before. Seriously though, it’s hard to fully comprehend the fact there is a little baby boy swimming around in my wife’s belly, and that he will be born in a few months. I remember seeing the sonogram for the first time and having this surreal moment of excitement and expectancy. It was like I wanted the little guy to be born and in my arms already. I wasn’t one who wished boy over girl, but for the baby to be healthy. We found out we’re having a little boy, and needless to say, I’m a bit excited! Every Dr.’s visit I hear his little heart beat, beating at 200 bpm, it’s truly amazing to think that’s perfectly healthy. My wife gets to see him poking on top of her belly, and she feels him moving around a lot. I seem to miss those little pokes a lot, but when I felt that little guy “kick” my hand for the first time, it was just awesome. It felt like a little high-five from my first born, and I just remembered how blessed I really am.
It’s not going to be easy being a Father, and nobody ever said it was. Thank God! I don’t know the first thing about it, but I do know that God never gives you more than you can handle. It will be an adventure that’s for sure. How fitting, since “The Adventure” by Angels & Airwaves was one of the songs played at my wedding. Just keep this in mind: Life really comes at you fast, and like Ferris Bueller said, “If you blink, you might miss it!”

About Wallerus

My name is Sam and I'm not a writer. Between kids and work, and I like to take pictures, disc golf, concerts/shows, play music, and just be outside.
This entry was posted in facts of life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

