Paralysis of Analysis

Ever aspire to get something done, but you were stuck in the Planning phase for so long, nothing ever got done. That’s been the story of my life for a while. I over-think, over-analyze, under-analyze, get distracted, and just plain over-whelmed by the amount of projects I have on my future to-do list. I am the king of half complete jobs and failed attempts at ill-gotten gains. I think the real paralysis, at least for me, comes when I keep the focus on myself rather than others.

Have you found yourself not completing something, or not getting what you want, only to realize your motives weren’t in the right place? I know I sure have. It’s not wrong to want something you probably don’t need, but it is wrong if that want over-shadows the needs/obligations around you. Those “needs” should be met first. I’ve always lived by the principle that God will supply my needs, and He sure has, more than I deserved. I have numerous examples of how my needs have been supplied, so why should I get discouraged by the things I don’t have? Again, here we see the motivations may not be in the right place.

Over-thinking can get you into trouble with deadlines, just take my entire college career as an example. I over-thought big projects and small papers, but wound up with great work at the very last minute. I didn’t get nearly as much done, and I didn’t live to my true potential. I heard a comic describe the difference between a man’s brain and a women’s brain. In men’s brains, there are many boxes, and each box contains a topic of subject of focus(i.e. sports, tools, schoolwork, cars, yardwork). The same goes for women. In a man’s brain, we are only capable of opening one box at a time, it’s just how we’re wired. In women’s brains they can multiple boxes open at one time, and not skip a beat. This one box idea with men, drives women nuts, but it’s the sad truth. 

I think about that story, and realize I can’t possibly get ten things done in one day, but I can get one. I hope you all realize your true potential in whatever you do. I hope your goals and motivations are just, and your frustrations are met with patience and success. Don’t over-analyze and stall out in the middle of the race, as it’s far from over. God Bless.

About Wallerus

My name is Sam and I'm not a writer. Between kids and work, and I like to take pictures, disc golf, concerts/shows, play music, and just be outside.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

